Tioga County

Office for People with Developmental Disabilities (OPWDD)

1. Why do families enter this system?
Seeking support and assistance for their child with a developmental disability.

2. How do families enter this system?
Contact local Developmental Disabilities Services Office (DSSO) or Community-based agency to start the intake and eligibility determination process.

3. Why does this system provide?
Medicaid Service Coordination, Home and Community Based Services Waiver, Habilitative services, Respite, Day schools and day programming, different types of residential placement depending upon needs (IRA, Community Residence, Developmental Centers, Family Care, Center for intensive treatment - CIT) OPTs, Options for People Through Services).

4. What are the eligibility requirements?
IQ less than 70. Adaptive deficit. Epilepsy, Autism, Cerebral Palsy, Neurological Impairment. Before the age of 22.

5. What are the laws or regulations of this system?
Mental Hygiene Law, Chapter 676, Title C, the Mental Retardation Developmental Disabilities Act.

6. What family supports exist within this system?
Family Support Council - Strong family voice within the system
Developmental Disabilities Planning Council (DDPC)